Robson coat in the summer…

So, a coat for the summer? I think for our windy city a shortish unlined coat is just the thing, and what better pattern to use than the Robson Coat by Sewaholic?

IMG_2451

I went to the Fabric Warehouse with just the idea of the coat in my head, just to see what fabric they may have and saw this awesome cotton canvas that seemed just perfect! And lucky me, they even had matching dusty pink buttons and bias binding in the shop too. 🙂

IMG_2448

I made a size 10 and the only changes I made were to shorten it by about 20cm as I wanted a slightly shorter coat for warmer temperatures and I lengthened the sleeves by 1cm.

It came together really easily, even with the bias binding it didn’t take as long as I thought it would. The hardest/longest was the buttons…

IMG_2456

I absolutely love these pockets! That extra little bit of bias binding to connect them to the front is just so clever and useful, they always sit exactly where they are supposed to. That’s definitely something I will keep in mind for other coats in the future!


The pockets are a bit low, and I should have read a few more blogs before cutting this up. I have long enough arms, so that it’s ok, but if I make this again I’ll bring them a bit higher up.

IMG_2457

I put the belt loops where they were in the pattern, but am thinking that they are a tiny bit high for me and given the shortness of my waist, I may make the belt skinnier if I can be bothered (or double it up instead. I don’t mind it too much at the moment, we will see, if I have enough time and motivation I’ll take the belt loops down a cm or two.

IMG_2460

The insides are sooo nice!

IMG_2462

And one more closeup of the pockets. Those wind flaps are awesome!

Leave a Reply

