Happy New Year

Happy New Year! It’s been a great year, even thought blogging has suffered a quite bit towards the end… Things have been busy and interesting in the last 4 months and luckily I still managed to sew some, but have to admit I prioritised sewing over blogging.I’ve got lots to post about. Since I want to use this to keep track of what I’ve made, learn from my own past work and reflect a bit for myself what works and what doesn’t for me, I will catch up on my posts.

A few things contributing to my non-blogging and choice of sewing were a really busy work schedule with quite a bit of travel, getting a new kitchen – so we lived like students for about 6 weeks with microwave in the office and no sewing space for me – and then we went to Thailand on a long awaited holiday. And then the parentals came for Xmas.

Upcoming blog posts

Between September and now, I’ve sewn the following, mostly for our Thailand holiday (posts to follow in the next few days and weeks):

  • Movies in the park shorts by Dixie DIY
  • Linen trousers – the bottom part of the Mein Jumpsuit by okistyle
  • Gabriola skirt by Sewaholic
  • Bonnell dress by Dixie DIY
  • McCalls wrap dress 7119
  • Renfrew short sleeved with cowl neck by Sewaholic
  • Hudson Pants for her and him by True Bias
  • Robson Coat by Sewaholic
  • Burda a-line skirt
  • (and two as of yet not quite finished tops, one Burda and one Alma Blouse by Sewaholic)

I’m planning to write a quick review of my holiday wardrobe and then individually posting about each garment made… Watch this space.

Wardrobe Architect 2015

This year was my first year ever without buying and ready to wear clothes. And I have to say, it was not hard. I wasn’t able to follow my plans for the Wardrobe Architect – when I see something that I love I just have to make it – but, I did stick to my colour palette when buying fabric and have been thinking more and more about silhouettes that suit me and staying away from impulse pattern buys (as much as possible) for shapes that I know are not me.

So, how was it?

It was a great experience to work through the planning phases, made me commit more to my sewing and have a bit more of a plan and idea of what my wardrobe might look like. While I didn’t follow along perfectly and didn’t follow through on my sewing plans to a T, I really enjoyed it and will attempt a second year of not buying any ready made clothes.

Plans for 2016

I don’t do New Years resolutions, because I think they are just made to be broken, but there’s a few things I’d like to do.

  1. Have a bit more order in my sewing – patterns, fabric and notions. I don’t have a sewing room (our house is just too small), so I sew on the dining room table. Understandably, I can’t leave stuff there for too long, so it has to be easy to put my machines and all the stuff I need out and away. Kristina's StyleTo make that less of a hassle, I am building a new shelf in our tiny guest room (above the bed), which will house all my fabric in nice and neat boxes (catalogued). My mom made me plans for this shelf for Christmas 🙂 She’s the best!
    That then frees up space in the dining room sideboard for work in progress and prep work. So hopefully it’ll just be a quick open the door put machine inside and close it. IMG_3036All my constantly needed stuff like extra bobbins, needles, scissors, etc are now all in one box for easy portability…
  2. I’ve also started to catalogue all my patterns electronically and throw out a whole bunch that no longer fit me, were horrid to start with or are just not interesting to me any more. I’m not all done yet, but I’ve gone through four of my eight binders…
  3. Re specific sewing, I need more work tops, so first up is finishing the two aforementioned unfinished tops, and maybe making another one of them if they fit well and I like them. Then also for work, I need some new trousers and another simple skirt, one that I will actually wear more often. I’ve yet to find out exactly why I love trousers and dresses, but am not wearing hardly any skirts… Apart from that, I’ve got sooo many lovely new patterns from the Christmas sales that I am itching to sew (and yes, for many I do have fabric already).
  4. Re getting better at sewing, I really want to finish my bodice and trouser sloper and then get into using these and checking other patterns against them for better fit. I also aim to be better at matching fabric to patterns, this is something that I still fail at fairly regularly. I get so wrapped up in everything that I don’t think about the match enough and in the end don’t ever end up wearing the garment, if it is even finished. My sewing fails this past year were all related to that. Must pay more attention and slow down before cutting.

And I could probably do with buying a smidge less fabric… 😉

On to prepping more posts…

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. Happy new year! 🙂

    Wow you’ve made heaps in four months!! Really looking forward to seeing them, especially the Bonnel dress and the Robson coat 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

