Slim blue trousers

During one of the last Vogue pattern sales, I bought Marcy Tilton’s slim pant pattern, V8859. I sometimes like trousers with elasticated waistbands, as they don’t add anything extra to my little belly, plus they are nice when you’re having a big dinner, sitting on a plane…

On my list of things to sew for this winter was a pair of slim blue trousers. I’ve had a dark blue wool/lycra mix (not sure anymore if it is actually lycra, but it is quite stretchy with decent recovery) from the Fabric Store in my stash for several months now, earmarked for trousers. This is also a good month old by now…

IMG_9462

(excuse the funny standing on tip toes, I didn’t have a photographer…)

I went by the sizing on the envelope and cut out a size 14 (US), just to take out a good 1.5cm out of each side after sewing the pants together. I added some slanted pockets, because you can never have enough pockets in pants and lined them with a bit of cotton left over from the Quart Coat.

IMG_9482

I did most of the work straight on the overlocker, which worked well.

I have to admit I didn’t totally get the instructions for sewing the knee pleats. I intended to do the second version described, but I think in the end I just kind of did what I thought I needed to make it look like what I had in mind. It came out ok.

IMG_9475

I added a bit of a topstitching feature on the back pockets, copied of my favourite jeans, to give the fabric a bit more support (it’s fairly stretchy) and then also copied the placement form the jeans rather than using the placement marks from the pattern. They are maybe a smidge too high, at least that’s what it looks like in the photo; it doesn’t bother me in real life, and I’m usually picky when it comes to back pocket placement.

All in all, I am fairly happy with the fit. I’ve worn it several times to work already and they are very comfortable (even if the fabric is a tiny bit itchy). If I make this again, I will lengthen the thigh a little bit, as I think the seam at the back of the knee and the welts at the front are just a bit too high on me. I’ve got quite long thighs, which I know, so I should have really thought about that before and made that adjustment right away. It works for now.

All in all, I am happy with the fit

Leave a Reply

