Getting on with the plan

I’ve been sitting on this beautiful coral coloured merino from The Fabric Store for some time now, thinking about what pattern would be nice to use for it. This is fairly thin merino, so I was planning to make something I could wear underneath a cardigan or blazer as I tend to feel the cold quite a bit and my office seems to be getting colder as the day goes on.

So many people have been raving about the Renfrew top, so I thought I should give that a try. And it is so versatile, something I really like. This is my first printed indie pattern ever. Nice! Everything was really straightforward and I love the outcome!

IMG_9078

After reading the finished measurements, I decided to make a size 8, a bit smaller than the body measurements (tiny niggle, having to go to the website to find the measurements in cm). I chose the cowl neck version with long sleeves. I lengthened the sleeves by about 2.5cm, something I do a lot, but otherwise made no other changes, nor did I sew a muslin. I made the whole thing with my overlocker, worked like a treat.

In the end, after wearing it once, I took the sleeve bands off again and took in the sleeves at the wrist about 2cm, they were a bit wide for my taste.

IMG_9079

The top fits really really well and I feel very comfortable in it.

IMG_9082 IMG_9081

I absolutely love it, I’ve worn it several time already and it’s only two weeks old… I’ve worn it over a long sleeve t-shirt, it’s too nice to hide under a blazer. 🙂

I’ve gone this past weekend and bought some more merino, a lovely silk, merino blend from The Fabric Warehouse and will make another one later this week. I am thinking about either doing the round neck version or I may attempt to make more of a turtle neck.

One thought on “Getting on with the plan

  1. Delicious colour, I had some of that merino too and it sews up beautifully. Really liked how your Renfrew turned out, looks lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

